Happy Earth Day!

Hi Everyone!  I know it has been a while since I have last blogged – sorry! Things have been a bit hectic, but fun in our household.

So, it’s Earth Day…it’s great – there’s so much attention, celebration, and dedication to our home.  Innerpeace Project participated in One Small Change to make our Earth a better place to live, not only for us, but for many generations to come.  Today honors the celebration of it.  I’ve been thinking about this day for some time and wondered how am I going to teach my 1 and 3-year-old about the importance of sustaining our planet?  I want to teach them at an early age so the three r’s become second nature to them.  Today we are going to do a few things in honor of our earth AND they will be fun activities for them.

First I thought we would go on a walk around our neighborhood and pick up litter on the grass and sidewalk (I’ll be sure to bring hand sanitizer and plenty of wipes!).  Hopefully later we will plant some herbs and flowers on our back deck while being cognizant of our electricity and resource usage. Sounds like fun to me…I’m sure Harry and Stella will be somewhat amused by our activities.  I’ll post some pictures tomorrow!

A little update on what’s going on in my life: my sister moved in with us for a couple of months to save some mula before she moves to Brooklyn to start her own adventure!  We have been having loads of fun playing with the kids, laughing a lot, challenging one another’s creativity, and reliving old memories.  I’ve also been hanging out with the kiddos and soaking up every bit of enjoyment they bring me. I’m trying to be present when I’m around them because these treasured times are what I live for… and I do not want to forget these beautiful innocent moments (my dad reminded me of this yesterday).  Also, in an effort to do things for myself, I broke out my art supplies and started painting again!  I’ll post some pictures after I finish.  Along with doing things for myself, I’m trying to stay active in my neighborhood.  Yesterday I stopped by my alderman’s office to get involved in some type of community clean up.  I am going to really try to make a sincere effort to try to make a difference where I live –  instead of ignoring it.  But I’m back and ready to share more ways we can improve our lives.

Are you doing anything special for Earth Day?  I would love to hear some of your stories!

Leave a Reply

