Trust Your Gut?

Lately, I’ve felt a bit confused, somewhat melancholy, and a bit lost and I don’t know why.  It’s a strange feeling because I normally feel the opposite.  Is it the weather?  Are my kids wearing me down?  Is it my lack of direction? The bad economy?  I don’t know why I’m like this, but I do know I want to change.  I want to be happy.  When I’m not feeling my normal self, my decision-making skills often do me wrong.  Not good.  I started to get down on myself and I realized I just need to trust my gut.  So simple, yet so difficult sometimes.  Whenever I go against what I feel is right, it almost always goes haywire.  Things don’t go as smoothly.  The decision I made becomes a struggle, and I always seem to have to work a little too hard to make it work.

So from here on out, I am going to make a conscious effort to trust what my gut tells me in terms of my life’s direction and have faith that it’s the only way.  So, the question is, how do I do this?  I think I need to be still and quiet my mind.  I must stop thinking of things that could happen and be present.  It’s so easy to talk ourselves out of what feels right.  I don’t think our brains are always right.  I know this probably seems like total crazy talk, but I am going to experiment and see how it works.  I’m not going to let anyone else or that little voice in my head convince me otherwise.  Wish me luck.

2 responses to “Trust Your Gut?

  1. I’m right there with you on this. It’s so hard to shut down all the questions and clear your head. Trusting your gut is an art. If anyone can figure it out, though, it’s you. Looking forward to hearing about the journey!

    • Thanks, Whitney. It is tough. It took a bit of work at first but it’s starting to come more natural. I am trying hard to get “in tune” with what life has in store for me. Trusting my path and knowing that obstacles are part of the whole process. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a comment